Toronto FC selected Lipscomb forward Tyrese Spicer with the first overall pick in the 2024 MLS SuperDraft on Tuesday.

Spicer, 23, finished his college career with 29 goals and 18 assists over 57 matches. He was named the Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year in 2023 after leading the nation in goals per game (14 goals in 16 appearances).

- Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

A native of Trinidad and Tobago, Spicer will go down as Toronto FC's first No. 1 overall pick since 2007.

"Tyrese possesses a unique combination of technical and physical qualities that align with our player profile and tactical blueprint," Toronto general manager Jason Hernandez said in a statement. "He also has a resilient mindset and a drive to improve, which makes him a great fit for TFC.

"We look forward to working with Tyrese to accelerate his growth as a player and person while helping us achieve our goals as a club."

The Colorado Rapids held the second and fourth picks and drafted Duke midfielder Wayne Frederick and Maryland forward Kimani Stewart-Baynes, respectively. FC Dallas chose Oregon State forward Logan Farrington third overall.

MLS SuperDraft First-Round Selections

1. Toronto FC, Tyrese Spicer, M, Lipscomb.

2. Colorado Rapids, Wayne Frederick, M, Duke.

3. FC Dallas (from Inter Miami CF), Logan Farrington, F, Oregon St.

4. Colorado Rapids (from LA Galaxy), Kimani Stewart-Baynes, F, Maryland.

5. Austin FC, Nate Jones, D, Washington.

6. Chicago Fire FC, Bryan Dowd, G, Notre Dame.

7. D.C. United, Jacob Murrell, F, Georgetown.

8. New York City FC, Malachi Jones, F, Lipscomb.

9. Minnesota United, Hugo Bachrach, D, Indiana.

10. CF Montreal, Grayson Doody, D, UCLA.

11. Nashville SC (from Portland), Wyatt Meyer, D, California.

12. N.Y Red Bulls (from Colorado Rapids via Charlotte FC), Aidan O'Connor, D, Virginia

13. San Jose Earthquakes, Jamar Ricketts, D, CS Northridge.

14. Charlotte FC (from Colorado Rapids via NY Red Bulls), Tyger Smalls, F, Loyola Marymount.

15. Inter Miami (from FC Dallas), Yannick Bright, M, New Hampshire.

16. Real Salt Lake (from Vancouver), Matthew Bell, F, Marshall.

17. St. Louis City (from Nashville SC), Hosei Kijima, F, Wake Forest.

18. Real Salt Lake, Jose (Kevin) Bonilla, D, Portland.

19. Atlanta United, Jayden Hibbert, G, UConn.

20. Minnesota (from New England), Marcus Caldeira, F, West Virginia.

21. Orlando City (from Colorado Rapids via St. Louis City), Jeorgio Kocevski, M, Syracuse.

22. Sporting Kansas City, Ryan Schewe, G, Georgetown.

23. Seattle Sounders, Kalani Kossa-Rienzi, D, Washington.

24. Miami (from Philadelphia Union), Ryan Carmichael, F, Hofstra.

25. Orlando City, Yutaro Tsukada, M, West Virginia

26. Houston Dynamo, Stephan Annor Gymafi, F, Virginia

27. FC Cincinnati, Brian Schafer, D, University of South Florida

28. Los Angeles FC, Jackson Lee, G, West Virginia

29. Columbus Crew, Jayden Da, F, Duquesne